Quiet to the Monotony of Complaints

My inadequacies knock at the door – or do they slap the walls?  They sometimes get attention.

Or are they like garish decals affixed to the sooty window – that slowly darkens my room for its shadows?

They are artifacts from archaeological digs; they exist, but they are silenced.

So I sit with you good Friend.  I drink from you, I hear you: breathe, speak, be present. Let it be:

“Be my friend where ever you are – where ever you go;

 Remember who you are – who you are to Me,” You say.

So You teach me to sing: 

“I will sing as beautifully as I can to You, O God – for You are my rescuer – from piercing and slicing; Rid me, protect me, deliver me from the hands of strange children – so that:

our sons will gain strength of character and maturity

our daughters will be polished and foundational

our accounts will be full for generosity and investment

our work will be productive and multiplied

our tools of influence will pull the weight

our homes will not be broken into, nor our identities be stolen

our streets will be quiet to the monotony of complaints.

Happy is the people who’s God is the Lord.”

Psalm 144

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

