To the God of my Daily Routine

It is into the daily routine and noisy bazaar, along bomb-pocked highways with columns of bedraggled refugees that Karl Rahner takes us into prayer. Rahner was a remarkable mind  as a chief architect of the Second Vatican Council, as a professor at several Universities, and as a prolific writer – publishing more than 3000 articles.

And (not, but), he was a person of intense spirituality.  Today’s prayer comes from his book, Encounters with Silence:

God of my Daily Routine:

I should like to bring the routine of my daily life before You, O Lord, to discuss the long days and tedious hours that are filled with everything else but You.

Look at this routine, O God of Mildness. Look upon us, who are practically nothing else but routine. In Your loving mercy, look at my soul, a road crowded by a dense and endless column of bedraggled refugees, a bomb-pocked highway on which countless trivialities, much empty talk and pointless activity, idle curiosity and ludicrous pretensions of importance all roll forward in a never ending stream.

When it stands before You and Your infallible Truthfulness, doesn’t my soul look like a market place where the second-hand dealers from all corners of the globe have assembled to sell the shabby riches of this world?  Isn’t it just like a noisy bazaar, where I and the rest of mankind display our cheap trinkets to the restless, milling crowds?

That is why I now see that, if there is any path at all on which I can approach You, it must lead through the very middle of my ordinary daily life… but is there a path through my daily life that leads to You?… thus I must seek You in all things.  If everyday is “everyday,” then everyday is Your day, and every hour is the hour of Your grace… 

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

