Into the Crevasse

Crevasse-e1355717781243There are many moments in the spiritual journey when you feel as if you can be no lower, which is another way of saying, you feel you can be no further from the sight-lines and reach of the friendship of God.

I love how Deuteronomy 33:27 goes:

The eternal God is your refuge,
and underneath are the everlasting arms.

James M. Houston says that “God goes deeper than our depth – He undermines our depth; there is no place we can go where God cannot reach us.”  We get this sense from Psalm 139 when the Psalmists asks in worshipful puzzlement:

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.

Today’s prayer comes from a poem I wrote long ago.  It speaks to the amazement of God in Christ – not just reaching down, but diving down “to touch its bottom.” The particularity, the relationality, and the coming “yourself” – are all overwhelming characteristics of God’s love:

Into the Crevasse

Into the crevasse you did not climb?
You dove to touch its bottom!
What joy I knew when you had reached it
Descended, yes, and then ascended!

However deep, however dark
I could not climb out, “my ladder gone
I did lie down where all ladders start
In the foul rag and bone shop of the heart.” (Yeats)

Awake my soul from that dark slumber
For You did not send another;
You came yourself and by yourself
You came to take me, brother.

Into the crevasse you did not climb –
But dove to touch its deep!
What joy drove you to reach its end?
What was my life to keep?

Awake, awake my soul, discover
To worship and adore,
However deep my sinkhole was
Your depth was even more.

April 17/94

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

