Reduced to Smoke Stacks and Debris

TwinTowers both with firesThis September 11, in the misty dust of confused missions and unending dread, I lament in confession.  911 has become a date that has become the irrational reason for interminable terror.  Not everyone can go to this prayer with me, but if you are interested in a little solace, enter into confession and supplication for peace.

It merely takes the courage of trust – and that comes from a long walk with Our Abba Father.

Towers built to glorify the hubris of mankind
Reduced to smoke stacks and debris
Mixed with grit and steel, blood, and soul…
And the blend of my violence visited upon me.

The rubble fell to bury me;
And end my cruel ambition;
It was the death of a dream,
And the margin of my vision.

But in the eery peace of deafened silence
I  see what I have done;
As smoke clears and dusts settles
I have nowhere else to run.

Like Ashera Poles set up to spite You
They were to fall one way or another;
Cloaked in modernity’s myths of self-reliance*1
Devoid of care for this or that brother.

Thus late have I come to beg forgiveness
“Late have I loved you, Beauty ancient and new.”*2
Approaching by way of terrible awareness
I come to confess and be healed by You.

 

*1 Audacious Subversion and Humble Recognition.

*2 Augustine’s  Late Have I loved You.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers, Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reduced to Smoke Stacks and Debris

  1. I greatly appreciate your view on this. Thank you for sharing. So many aspects to this event. And still heart-wrenching on so many levels.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Human Spillage and Hospitality | More Enigma Than Dogma

Leave a Reply

