Belonging

510mH+F6TSL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Almost a year ago I wrote about the “Abba Prayer“, and “the Abba Experience” as the late Brennan Manning would call it. He spoke about this regularly, and wrote to it most passionately in, “Abba’s Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging.”

“Define yourself radically as one beloved of God.”

Today’s prayer comes from listening to Brennan Manning speak, and reading, re-reading, and contemplating the depth of the “Abba Experience.” This summarizes the noticeable healing in my later years. It is this radical self identification that marks the profound filling of the deep wounds in my life. And this healing speaks to the need for belonging for which we were made.

Abba I belong to You

Abba I belong to You,
I belong to You when I am fully engaged in the work of eternity
I belong to You when I kick off the paper sheets of the gutter.

I belong to You in the early hours of devotion
And after the long hours of defeat.

I belong to You the same in courageous victory
And in cowardly retreat;

I belong to You, I belong to You, Abba Father, to You I belong.

Feb. 26/02

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Belonging

  1. petraperkov says:

    Breathtakingly beautiful.

    Like

  2. Elle says:

    I’m struggling a ton in my marriage right now. My husband won’t see a certain thing as sin–and I keep trying to tell him but he makes it about surface issues. It’s deflection at its finest. And I don’t feel like being here and am just sick of my life right now and tired of being told “you are the one with the problem” and I just want to fade away into nothingness and never come back. Thanks for the reminder although my heart still wants to go away.

    Like

  3. For the feeling of fading away into nothingness, I meekly offer: https://rhfoerger.wordpress.com/2015/10/02/enlarge-the-cavern/
    Going off line to answer a deeper question.

    Like

  4. stacilys says:

    Hi Rusty, thank you for sharing this post with me. I had never heard of this book before actually, but this topic of ‘belonging’ is something that has been very strong in me in the past little while. The fact that I belong to him is phenomenal. There’s a great sense of security that comes along with it. My life is not my own. I don’t have to fend or fight for myself in this world. He is in control.
    Have a wonderful weekend Rusty.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: A Mother’s Manifesto | More Enigma Than Dogma

  6. Pingback: The Question of our Belovedness | More Enigma Than Dogma

Leave a Reply

