Tears fell like Prayers

hands holding tree growing on cracked earth

In the awful echo of Remembrance Day, there is much about which to be somber as we still try to uncoil ourselves from violence and her many tentacles of de-inspiration.

I write this prayer based on a line in Craig Barnes’ book, When God Interrupts, that goes: “Mary’s tears fell like prayers.” I thought that was a wonderful poetic understanding of her response to Jesus on the occasion of her brother’s death.  It now forms this prayer of remembrance:

Tears fell like Prayers

Tears fell like prayers
dropped like lifeless seeds into the dry dust
   that could not care like I wanted them to,
   that would not receive them as I thought.

My tears did not soak into the soil at first;
They beaded on the surface
Whereupon I saw them as they were:
   sad fragments of lament
   portions of long stories
   stanzas of a dirge.

So all I could do was to scatter;
Prayers fell like tears
dropped into a skyward landscape
coloured and fashioned
by forces beyond my insight or outlook.

There and everywhere You took them
to Yourself
And planted them as seeds,
   both wet and substantial
   watered and germinated
   in the palm of Your hand.

Take them, then,
and make them live;
Remind me
remind my tears
remind my prayers:
You, Oh Lord, receive me still
as I receive You now
in prayer and tears.

Hands Nurturing Plant

Hands Nurturing Plant

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

