I can only Imagine

almost_thereI had the great delight of taking my birthday girl (Mercy) to a MercyMe concert recently. They played some songs from a very successful early album in their career: “Almost There.”

It reminds me of Phil Wickham’s “Heaven Song” (from an earlier post) – an allusion to something for which we are restless.

The MercyMe song “I can only Imagine” invites to a certain kind of contemplation of a future for which we have no sure conception; we merely reach and grasp at air, not really knowing what it will be like to be in the presence of the One who made us for Himself – the One who loves us and who inspires worship in us.

Today’s prayer invites you to talk with our Abba about what it will be like as we move from this age of imagination to the substance of being in His presence:

I Can Only Imagine

I can only imagine what it will be like
When I walk by your side
I can only imagine what my eyes will see
When your face is before me
I can only imagine

Yeah

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for your Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine when that day comes
And I find myself standing in the Son
I can only imagine when all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you
I can only imagine, yeah
I can only imagine

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for your Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine
Yeah
I can only imagine

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for your Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine
Yeah
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
Yeah
I can only imagine
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

I can only imagine

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I can only Imagine

  1. Another great piece. Loved it.

    Like

  2. I suspect… you will. I imagine we will be inspired to create throughout eternity. I touch on this in an earlier post, and If you are anywhere my age, you might appreciate this nod to James Taylor in: https://moreenigma.wordpress.com/2015/07/23/time-and-timelessness-creative-process-and-the-long-thought/
    Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

