A Prayer of Dedication by an Uncle

sacredweddingvows.com

sacredweddingvows.com

There are those occasions when one is honoured and humbled to pray for a relative at some meaningful event in that person’s life.  My friend Mikey was asked a few months ago to pray for his nephew and godson, Linus, at his baby dedication. In preparing, Mikey said,

“I tried to include the very things I need prayer for myself. And the last line, starting with “Strengthen him..” is one I found in The Book of Common Prayer while I was digging around for godchild or dedication liturgy.”

As you consider this prayer, consider the children in your life, and pray this anew:

Dear God.
I pray that Linus would grow up to be good, happy, and kind.

I pray that he would know you his whole life. Be his comforter, and his peace. I pray he would learn from your son Jesus, and understand what forgiveness means: that because of you, all our guilt is false.

I pray he grows up to be humble, and that the bigger he gets, the smaller he realizes he is. I pray he will not throw stones, but stand between them and the people you love.

And I pray that I will be the godfather he needs. I don’t know what that is yet, and I might not even know at the time, but I pray that you will help me, and that I would be someone he can trust, someone he can learn from, and someone who will delight his heart in you.

Strengthen him, O Lord, with your presence, enfold him in the arms of your mercy, and keep him safe for ever.

Amen

A Prayer of Dedication by Mikey Hamm for his nephew/godson Linus.

For a dedication liturgy see the Common Book of Payer.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Prayer of Dedication by an Uncle

  1. stacilys says:

    What a lovely prayer. I pray the meanings of my children’s names for them. Cauê means, ‘A kind man that acts with intelligence’ and Hannah Isabel, ‘The grace and favour of God’.
    🙂

    Like

    • Yes, my friend is a writer (among other things) and is thoughtful in this prayer. I too remind my children of the meaning of their names. It will be a gift to your children for them to know the meaning of their names, and to know your faithfulness in praying their meaning over them. You may enjoy what I wrote for my youngest (adult) son whose birthday falls on Christmas eve. I write another (more “philosophical”) blog – and posted this: https://moreenigma.wordpress.com/2015/12/23/joyous-noel-joel/

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys says:

        Love philosophy. I’m a huge Francis Schaeffer fan and the pastor of my church here is also the director of L’Abri Brazil. I will definitely be checking it out. Thanks for letting me know.
        Btw, I don’t know if you got my comment or not on my ‘About’ page. It’s because your comment to me didn’t even show up in my notifications. I just found it when I went into the WP Admin. Did you get my response to your comment? I’m just asking because sometimes WP does these funny things where they don’t show up in the notifications.
        🙂

        Like

        • If you are still living in Brazil, I wonder how you are feeling about the Zika epidemic? I just posted an article speaking to our response in the face of this virus, and what it reveals about the worth of personhood: https://moreenigma.wordpress.com/2016/02/03/zika-and-the-zeitgeist/

          Liked by 1 person

          • stacilys says:

            Ohhhh yes, it’s all over the news right now. My mom was asking me about it too because my daughter get’s eaten alive by mosquitos. I’m not really worried, but maybe I should be? I’m not sure. So far, so good here at our base. We always have Dengue scares every year, so maybe that’s why I’m not that worried. I’ll have to check out your post on it.
            🙂

            Like

          • stacilys says:

            Heyyyy, I just checked out you church’s site and noticed that you are one of their speakers. I’m going to have to listen to some of the messages you shared. I’ve already started actually with the ‘Encounters with Jesus’ on January 4th of last year.
            🙂

            Like

  2. Thanks for the note; I hadn’t seen your comment in your “About” till you mentioned it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

