Three Days of Prayer: (2) But wait, the Wind!

girlontherun.me

girlontherun.me

The 2nd of Three Days of Prayer, by Kathy Sperling:

But wait, the Wind!

But wait, the Wind!
The Wind, how could I forget the wind?!
Yesterday
A gentle support on my back
Reassuring me that it is
In every way
Behind me
But today
Oh my
A gale force wind
First at my side as I run
Then a full frontal assault
What’s this then, I sob?! I thought
You were comfort
The gentle presence I could rest into
This is such confusing agony!
But I keep running
And I find myself
Leaning in
With everything I have

And then you speak
Not with words, oh no!
From the deepest part of me I know to be true:
I am what I am,
Sometimes gentle
Sometimes a hurricane gale
And in all of this
Lean into me
I am good.
Very well then, I cry
And throw myself headlong into
This storm
Hold me, I scream
Don’t leave me!

And all at once I am at the centre
A place I have never even
imagined
could exist

Of course you are holding me in
the stillness
Just as you were in the storm
And I find myself
Shedding enormous tears of
Gratitude

How can I thank you?! I cry
And with an ever so gentle rain
I feel your gratitude
Cover me
All of me
gratitude reciprocated
Heaven has met earth
I am
And I am.

Kathy Sperling, August  2015

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Days of Prayer: (2) But wait, the Wind!

  1. Such a beautiful write! 💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

