Three Days of Prayer: (3) Today – The Waves

waves crashing on rocks

life123go.files.wordpress.com

The 3rd of Three Days of Prayer by Kathy Sperling:

Today – The Waves

Today –
The waves
A voracious beckoning
Enter in, enter in, enter in,
They envelop my feet
I cannot resist this caress
Immersing myself in this force
Of nature
Submerged, embraced, submerged
This is love
Pure
asking nothing in return
It pours forth its limitless source
of life force
How could it do anything else?
Oh that I would never need to come up for air!

My heart overflows
Tears and ocean intermingle
I and the ocean are now one
And I realize it has always resided deep inside of me
This untapped source of immense power
Its gateways to my heart:
Great love
Great suffering

Gratitude, gratitude, gratitude
How can I repay you ocean
For your immense gift?

Enter in
Enter in again
And again
I am always at the gate to your heart.

Enter in
Enter in again
And again.

Kathy Sperling, August 2015

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Three Days of Prayer: (3) Today – The Waves

  1. Gratitude. THERE is a word. I apologize for not reading more. I confessed to being a self-absorbed piece of work today. Thank you for always checking me out. I’ve been wanting to tell you to try to find a Tenebrae service in your area on the Wednesday before Good Friday. It’s a rarely celebrated and very dramatic thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks. With aging in-laws living with us, gratitude has become the mystery that must be sought. You are welcome for my visits; your journey is instructive and I appreciate your courage. Our church practices a Tenebrae service and I am looking forward to that as much as to Easter. Peace to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

