By Mere Prayer or Plaintive Whisper

As aging men go, D.A. Carson is one those great minds who is tethered to a heritage of prayer.  In his tribute to his father, “Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor: The Life and Reflections of Tom Carson,” he writes:

“Keep me from the sins of old men – a tendency toward watching TV, the temptation to look backward instead of forward, sliding toward self pity, easy resentment of young men… Develop, as a senior, a prayer ministry; God has given you the time for it.”

Not sure why, but since I have been given the time for it, it inspired this poem prayer:

By mere prayer or plaintive whisper

No slap on the hand was needed,

But by age and blessed illness

My clenched fists relinquished

the demanding reigns of self-determination

over to the One who made me for Himself.

“Sit here; sit here with me; let us do this art together.”

I sit with He who reigns – as if,

As if I co-create the unfolding universe

Speaking into existence the ideas of an Imagination

As if by mere prayer or plaintive whisper

We heal gashes and teach fools the mysteries of the heavens

and the wisdom of awe.

I stand with the One who speaks words into life:

Words of life into me

Words of life drawn out of me 

Prayers that are birthed from Him

Only to return to Him in joyful completion.

I walk with the God who became a man:

The Word made flesh

The breath that breathed into life

The Word made into mere prayer or plaintive whisper

To find its source and destination.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to By Mere Prayer or Plaintive Whisper

  1. iamcayenne says:

    “Prayers that are birthed from Him….Only to return to Him in joyful completion”….that’s how i feel, especially when praying in our native language….”smiles”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Am I my Brother’s Keeper? | Curriculum of the Spiritual Life

Leave a Reply

