In the Shadow of the Glorious Cross

Standing under an ancient fresco of the Crucifixion.

Standing under an ancient fresco of the Crucifixion in Cappadocia, Turkey.

I can’t let go of Easter that fast. I can’t let go of Jesus at all. Easter lingers and clings and integrates my whole life; it draws me into Christ’s own Holy life.

We recently returned from a month long journey through Turkey where we came upon carved out cave-churches found in the Cappadocian valleys. This church may have been no larger than my living room, but it opened up into a wonderful auditory chamber, covered in frescos of the images of the Gospel. I stepped in to find above the entrance, an ancient fresco of Christ crucified – as if emblematic of the entire Christian life.

What else could I do but imagine the worship from our primitive beginnings, and wonder how our early brothers & sisters in Christ prayed and lived and worshipped?

What else could I do but worship the One who loves us so well?

In the Shadow of the Glorious Cross

In the shadow of the glorious cross
Compelled by grace to cast my lot
I’ll discard the loss and bare your name
Forsaking all for your own fame

Your hymn of grace sung over me
Abounding forth in glorious streams
My thirst is quenched by you my Lord
Sustained am I redeemed restored
Sustained am I redeemed restored

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

When death’s dark shadow’s at my feet
When I am plagued by unbelief
You place my hands into your side
By precious blood identified
By precious blood identified

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

These crowns I’ve clenched with fisted hands
I cast them down before the throne
Of Christ my God the worthy lamb
Christ crucified, the Great I AM
Christ crucified, the Great I AM
Christ crucified, the Great I AM

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

©2007 Sojourn Community Church CCLI Song #5133895

Written by Brooks Ritter and Rebecca Bales

For more, go to sojournmusic.bandcamp.com

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the Shadow of the Glorious Cross

  1. Pingback: In Time for Christmas: Books of 2016 | More Enigma Than Dogma

Leave a Reply

