Am I my Brother’s Keeper?

Am I my brotehr's keeper?

Am I my brother’s keeper?
   or is He for another
   to bear up under
   diminishing arms and limited heart?

Is He for another
   to worry about in the middle of the night
   to find in some cold morning
   or on some desolate street?

Am I my brother’s keeper
   when I have my own family
   when I have enough to carry
   when I have moved far from home?

Is He for another
   to hold the bag
   to pay the debt
   to bind the wound?

With whimper and confession
Without proud proclamation
I exhale:
I am my brother’s keeper.

For my brother Paul, in this season of his life.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I my Brother’s Keeper?

  1. Tanya Cliff says:

    Wonderful! That is a deeply inspiring reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I suppose like any group of siblings, I have a long history with my brother. There are no shortcuts or payoffs; brotherly (sisterly) love is always going to be costly. I am faced with counting the cost again – and paying up. I say this by way of confession rather than proclamation, for I regularly am called to love better. This is a good thing, but I wish it wasn’t as hard as it is. Very glad to know you are inspired.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

