Make my life a Prayer to You

Keith Green“Make my life a prayer to you” might be the most suitable epithet for the short life of Keith Green (1953-1982).  Written by his wife Melody, this song became a kind of anthem for a generation of Christians working through what living your prayer is in contrast to saying you prayers.

Listen to Keith lead us in worship, or pray this on your own so that you’d allow God to make your life a prayer to Him:

Make my life a Prayer to You

Make my life a prayer to you
I wanna do what you want me to
No empty words and no white lies
No token prayers no compromise

I wanna shine the light you gave
Through your son you sent to save us
From ourselves and our despair
It comforts me to know you’re really there

[Chorus]
Well I wanna thank you know
For being patient with me
Oh it’s so hard to see
When my eyes are on me
I guess I’ll have to trust
And just believe what you say
Oh you’re coming again
Coming to take me away

I wanna die and let you give
Your life to me so I might live
And share the hope you gave me
The love that set me free

I wanna tell the world out there
You’re not some fable or fairy tale
That I’ve made up inside my head
You’re God the son and you’ve risen from the dead

[Chorus]

I wanna die and let you give
Your life to me so I might live
And share the hope you gave me
The love that set me free

Songwriters: Green, Melody
Make My Life A Prayer To You lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make my life a Prayer to You

  1. stacilys says:

    I love Keith Green. In fact, God used one of his ‘Last Days Minitries’ pamphlets, ‘Music or Missions’ to strengthen his calling on my life to missions. I was just a young Christian still.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

