I Am Sodom

For this first Friday in Lent, here is a confession found in The River Walk, by Beejai. Let us pray:

Dear God,
I repent. I am sorry for my arrogance, my laziness, my apathy, and my pride. I am sorry for my sin. Help me to change. Help me to stop being so religious and start becoming a better follower of You. Help me also to stop focusing on the “detestable” sins of others. Instead help me to focus on Your beauty and holiness. Slowly, gradually, step by step and day by day I ask that You would let that holiness and beauty be reflected in me that the world will see. Help me to remember that it is Your kindness that leads us to repentance.
Amen

THE RIVER WALK

sodo (1)

Sodom’s sins were arrogance, gluttony, and laziness, while the poor and needy suffered outside her door. She was haughty and committed detestable sins, so I wiped her out, as you have seen. (Ezekiel 16:49-50)

Read: Ezekiel 16:42-17:24, Hebrews 8:1-13, Psalm 106:13-31, Proverbs 27:7-9

Relate: Sometimes I can be a bit arrogant. I wish I could say that last statement in all honesty. I can’t. A far more truthful assessment would be to say that I am quite arrogant most of the time. If I wanted I could go along with modern Western culture and dress the truth up in fancy clothing. I could say I have a healthy self image. I am confident. My seeming pride is really just a by product of being extroverted. Whatever. The brass tax is that I am arrogant. There is no getting around the truth.

I can also be gluttonous. Just yesterday I treated myself…

View original post 555 more words

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers, Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

