A Prayer of Devotion


A Prayer of Devotion – by Ken Gire

Dear Saviour at whose feet I now sit,

When you knock on the door to my heart, what is it you are looking for? What is it you want? Is it not to come in to dine with me and I with you? Is it not for fellowship?

And yet, so often, where do you find me? At your feet? No. In the kitchen. How many times have I become distracted and left you there…sitting…waiting…longing?

What is so important about my kitchen full of preparations that draws me away from you? How can they seem so trivial now and yet so urgent when I’m caught up in them?

Forgive me for being so much distracted by my preparations and so little attracted by your presence. For being so diligent in my service and so negligent in my devotion. For being so quick to my feet and so slow to yours.

Help me to understand that it is an intimate moment you seek from me, not an elaborate meal.

Guard my heart this day from the many distractions that vie for my attention. And help me to fix my eyes on you. Not on my rank in the kingdom, as did the disciples. Not on the finer points of theology, as did the scribes. Not on the sins of others, as did the Pharisees. Not on a place of worship, as did the woman at the well. Not on the budget, as did Judas. But on you.

Bring me out of the kitchen, Lord. Bid me come to your feet. And there may I thrill to sit and adore thee….

This prayer of devotion is excerpted from An Intimate Moment with Mary and Martha from the book Moments with the Savior by Ken Gire, Zondervan 1998.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Prayer of Devotion

  1. exoticnita54 says:

    Such a devotional prayer 🙏🏻…

    We do tend to get so caught up in the little responsibilities of life that we get so distracted from what is so important..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Though I am not ready to call my responsibilities “little” (still I resist?) – they do manage to size themselves to the right proportions in light of Christ’s presence. In the encounter with Martha, the text reads “she was distracted with preparations that “had” to be made” (Lk 10:40). I suspect the question is “did the preparations have to be made in the way or to the extent that she thought until meeting Jesus?” Whatever way she saw the preparations, like us (as you wisely said), they were distractions from He who is life.

      Like

      • exoticnita54 says:

        Some of us us take such great pride in being a caretaker of feeding others..
        and making sure their obligated duties is completely fulfilled before they think of Stopping for doing something else..

        It’s all good on a regular basis..
        but when their is guest or something important like being in the presence of the lord..

        We have to choose to stop and entertain such..

        But some of us feel so guilty to walk away from their duties..

        I guess it’s only natural..

        And the story only goes to show and teach us..
        that it’s ok to delay the preparation sometimes just to be a host…
        and to welcome the lord in your home

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful post, we often keep ourselves so busy instead of craving the stillness that is needed in order to spend time with our Savior!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

