Echoes of Mercy

today.salve.edu

today.salve.edu

Who, but Fanny Crosby, being blind almost since birth, could be more attuned to the sounds of God’s goodness so as to draw our attention to “echoes of mercy and whispers of love?” Thus this well loved hymn written in the midst of the shadow of the Civil War (1873) is itself a “foretaste of glory divine.”

Blessed Assurance, by Fanny Crosby

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

Refrain:
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels, descending, bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

To hear “Blessed Assurance,” go to this rendition by Third Day.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Echoes of Mercy

  1. Very well noted Rusty. With all the blessings that we have, you have to wonder what our world is complaining about. We need to be very thankful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. exoticnita54 says:

    Thank you so much for the reminder of that song….

    I can still remember singing 🎤 it out loudly..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

