A Prayer for Awareness

The Girl at the Mirror, by Norman Rockwell

The Girl at the Mirror, by Norman Rockwell

A Prayer for Awareness by Ken Gire

Thank You, O God,

For seeing beyond the surface of my life
   to the child sitting at the mirror.
Thank You for sitting down beside me,
   putting Your arm around me,
      and speaking to me with such tenderness,
         such compassion, and such understanding.

Help me to be ware of the pictures in my life
   that are everywhere around me and at all times
      showing me something I need to see,
      telling me something I need to hear,
      offering me something I need to receive.

Help me look beyond the surface of those pictures to see windows.
Give me eyes to see, ears to hear, and a heart to receive
   what you are offering me though those windows,
      that I might sense what is dear to You
         so that it might become what is dear to me…

Ken Gire provides tender insight in his book “Windows of the Soul.” He writes about this Rockwell image in which the girl sits in front of her mirror, her doll cast aside, as she rests a magazine on her lap.

“There is something about this girl, this girl whose arms are held close and whose hands are curled inward like the petals of a flower. She is somewhere between bud and blossom. Somewhere between her last doll and her first date. Somewhere between dressing up and growing up…

The girl is on the threshold of her life, standing on very tentative legs, now sitting.  She knows it is a threshold she will have to cross, but she’s hesitant, unsure. Her body is tugging at her, pulling her through the door, but something inside is pulling her back…

We go from threshold to threshold with something pulling us forward and something pulling us back. We sit in front of a mirror, tentative, hesitant, unsure…”

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Prayers, Proverbs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Prayer for Awareness

  1. Dr. J says:

    I appreciate so much this exquisite poem and the most insightful comments which brought to mind a similar poem inspired after seeing a young girl whom I taught in children’s ministry a number of years later when she had blossomed into a beautiful young woman whose radiant smile revealed “A Blush of Innocence” the poem’s title. I thought you would appreciate this:

    Blush of Innocence

    A blush of innocence upon the face
    Of budding girl at a tender age
    Is the rare reward of those who trace
    The essence of youth to its purest stage.
    The heart of a child is an open garden
    Where the rarest of flowers flourish and grow,
    Though time schemes and devises to harden
    The heart with weeds and walls that hide the glow.
    Pure innocence blooms in a young girl’s eyes.
    Look upon the glowing face and cherish The petals, the bud where such beauty lies,
    For fruit shall come and the blossom perish.
    Though beauty spans beyond adolescence,
    No smile outshines a blush of innocence.

    Lonnell Johnson

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Dr. J for poem that shares this theme.

    Like

Leave a Reply

