Dancing in the Minefields

Andrew_Peterson_Dancing_In_The_Minefields_LyricsYesterday was our 32 wedding anniversary – and I am caught up in Andrew Peterson’s refrain:

We went dancing in the minefields
We went sailing in the storm
And it was harder than we dreamed,
But I believe that’s what the promise is for.

It has been harder than we dreamed. Just ask us.

In difficult times, when we’d ask for some assurance of love, sometimes we could only manage, “I’m committed to you.”  That is, at least, “what the promise is for.”  There’s more to an anniversary than marking the longevity of a marriage; it speaks to the untold and unspeakable dynamics of getting on together, how we need each other, and the odd ways in which we bless each other. See if you can find a prayer in this:

Dancing in the Minefields

I was nineteen, you were twenty-one
The year we got engaged
Everyone said we were much too young
But we did it anyway

We bought our rings for forty each
From a pawn shop down the road
We made our vows and took the leap
Now fifteen years ago

We went dancing in the minefields
We went sailing in the storm
And it was harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for

“I do” are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard
Is a good place to begin

‘Cause the only way to find your life
Is to lay your own life down
And I believe it’s an easy price
For the life that we have found

And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re sailing in the storm
This is harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for

So when I lose my way, find me
When I loose love’s chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith, till the end of all my days
When I forget my name, remind me

‘Cause we bear the light of the Son of Man
So there’s nothing left to fear
So I’ll walk with you in the shadowlands
Till the shadows disappear

‘Cause he promised not to leave us
And his promises are true
So in the face of all this chaos, baby,
I can dance with you

Can you find a prayer in there? Perhaps it is the simple:

… when I lose my way… find me…

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dancing in the Minefields

  1. Beautifully done. I can relate to much of your poem. Within God’s grace is the best place to run the marriage race. He guides and provides enough joy and love to make us grateful we said “I do.”
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’ve always like Andrew Peterson’s lyrics; I play his song regularly to remind me of what the promise means.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, yes, I see it’s a song. We have a poem, a couple gave us, hanging in our home to remind us why we got married. The couple have been married for longer than we have. The tough times have tenderized theirs and our hearts. Sadly, some couples only allow the tough stuff to make them bitter. And sadder still are those who are good-willed, but have unknowingly married an ill-willed person; it’s better to be alone than coupled with an abusive person.

        Like

        • Yes, there are several Proverbs to that effect: “Better to live on the corner of a roof than with a quarrelsome person” (Prov 21:9 & 25:24). Sometimes I don’t quite know where “the line is” between enduring faithfully according to vows and willful love – – and knowing to leave because enduring a tough marriage (seeing abuse for what it is) is simply life destroying. I have often to look in the mirror to see the one person I can/need to change. May we have grace, grace, grace…

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

