When I am Hungry

Lord when I am hungry,
give me someone needing food.

When I am thirsty,
send me someone needing a drink

When I am cold, send me
someone to warm

When I am grieved, send me
someone to console

When my cross grows heavy
let me carry another’s cross too

When I am poor, lend me
someone in need

When I have no time,
give me someone I can help a little while

When I am humiliated,
let me have someone to praise

When I am disheartened,
send me someone to cheer

When I need understanding
give me someone who needs mine.

When I need to be looked after
give me someone to care for

When I think only of myself
draw my thoughts to another.

Author unknown to me.

Admittedly, this is in the realm of “impossible” prayers, not because this prayer cannot be answered, but because it cannot be prayed with oneself as the centre. It is not a prayer proclaimed triumphantly; it is rather the prayer of resignation from oneself being the only person on earth. It is not a set of commandments; it is submission to the nonviable.

When I am hungry for your love, Oh Lord have mercy on me

When I am thirsty for your presence, send me someone that needs mercy.

It is the tone of the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Make me an instrument of thy peace.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I am Hungry

  1. Elle says:

    I love this. Thank you for sharing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

