Restless for the Place I Belong

220px-PhilWickhamHeaven&EarthToday, another friend of ours died. It is a strange harvest season of good friends, and I find myself restless for the place we belong – in all the joy of Abba’s presence.

Phil Wickham writes Heaven’s Song with that shared longing: “I hear God’s voice and I catch my breath.” Breathless, speechless – our breath taken away in one sense; but in another sense, our breath is finally restored, finally alive, fully alive, completely alive to the One who breathed and breathes life into us. Try as we might, how will we catch our breath in the presence of unspeakable glory?

We get hints to something more, something we only get a foretaste of here, something that draws out so much beauty of the God into whom we can only imagine:

“You fill me with joy in Your presence – with eternal pleasure at Your right hand…” Psalm 16:11

If you can… despite your own acquaintance with grief, pray this song to the One who makes you ready for Him:

“Heaven Song”

You wrote a letter and You signed Your name
I read every word Read it page by page
You said that You’d be coming
Coming for me soon
Oh my God I’ll be ready for You

I want to run on greener pastures
I want to dance on higher hills
I want to drink from sweeter waters
In the misty morning chill
And my soul is getting restless
For the place where I belong
I can’t wait to join the angels and sing my heaven song

I hear Your voice and I catch my breath
Well done my child enter in, in rest
As tears of joy roll down my cheek
It’s beautiful beyond my wildest dreams

I want to run on greener pastures
I want to dance on higher hills
I want to drink from sweeter waters
In the misty morning chill
And my soul is getting restless
For the place where I belong
I can’t wait to join the angels and sing

I want to run on greener pastures
I want to dance on higher hills
I want to drink from sweeter waters
In the misty morning chill
And my soul is getting restless
For the place where I belong
I can’t wait to join the angels and sing
Oh I can’t wait to join the angels and sing my heaven song.

In honour of Heather… and remembering Harold.

About R.H. (Rusty) Foerger

As I enter the third third of life, I am becoming aware of the role of elders today “to enlarge spiritual vision, being devoted to prayer, living in the face of death, as a living curriculum of the Christian life” (Dr. James M. Houston). I am a life long and life wide learner who seeks to: *decipher the enigma of our worth *rescue from the agony of prayerlessness *integrate spiritual friendship.
This entry was posted in Poems, Prayers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restless for the Place I Belong

  1. Pingback: I can only Imagine | Curriculum of the Spiritual Life

Leave a Reply

